Question: What you should never tell your therapist?

Can you tell your therapist you smoke?

The only exceptions therapists must abide by are: If you pose a danger to yourself or others, or if they suspect that a child is being abused. And if a patient is under 18 years of age, a therapist can disclose their weed use to their parents or guardians.

Can you admit crimes to a therapist?

When the therapist-patient privilege does apply, it covers patients statements, and often therapists diagnoses and notes. It can even include admissions of criminal liability: In several jurisdictions, a therapist cannot report someone who confesses to a crime.

Can I tell my therapist im high?

That means a therapist would be legally required to report you if you were using cannabis with or selling to a minor. And if a patient is under 18 years of age, a therapist can disclose their weed use to their parents or guardians.

Do therapists have to tell parents about drug use?

The therapist is not obligated to tell your parents, but they are mandated by law to report any suspected sexual abuse. Since the law specifically refers to suspected, it is not up to the therapist to determine whether the abuse actually occurred. Your parents are there to help!

What is a Tarasoff warning?

In 1985, the California legislature codified the Tarasoff rule: California law now provides that a psychotherapist has a duty to protect or warn a third party only if the therapist actually believed or predicted that the patient posed a serious risk of inflicting serious bodily injury upon a reasonably identifiable

When can a therapist break confidentiality?

Licensed mental health professionals can break confidentiality in some circumstances. One of the most common scenarios is when a client is a threat to himself/herself or others, in which case a therapist must notify the person in danger or notify someone who can keep the client safe.

Can you tell a therapist you smoke?

The only exceptions therapists must abide by are: If you pose a danger to yourself or others, or if they suspect that a child is being abused. And if a patient is under 18 years of age, a therapist can disclose their weed use to their parents or guardians.

Contact us

Find us at the office

Hurtarte- Aminov street no. 34, 93309 The Valley, Anguilla

Give us a ring

Oluwadamilola Gleich
+93 552 509 928
Mon - Fri, 8:00-17:00

Tell us about you