What is the youngest you can get married in Oregon?
17 years old In Oregon, you must be 17 years old before you can marry. If you are under 18 years old, you must have the written consent of a parent or guardian before you can marry.
Can minors get married in Oregon?
In all other U.S. states, minors can marry through legal loopholes, and often there is no minimum age for marriage. In Oregon, 17-year-olds can marry with parental consent. All child marriage should be eliminated in Oregon.
What states allow 18 marriages?
Child marriage is currently legal in 44 states (only Delaware, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island have set the minimum age at 18 and eliminated all exceptions), and 20 U.S. states do not require any minimum age for marriage, with a parental or judicial waiver.
Can a 16 year old marry a 18 year old in Oregon?
This is a quick overview of the marriage age requirement laws in Oregon .Marriage Age Statutes in Oregon.Code SectionOregon Revised Statutes 106.010, et seq.: Marriage, Domestic PartnershipMinimum Legal Age With Parental ConsentMale: 17; Female: 17Minimum Legal Age Without Parental ConsentMale: 18; Female: 181 more row
What states can you get married at 17 without parental consent?
In Alaska, Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Montana, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virginia, and Wyoming you may get married if you are under the age of 16 only if you have both parental approval and judicial consent.
Can you get married at 17 without parents permission?
There are certain options open to you that dont require parental permission, but its worth thinking about whether some of these options might cause family rifts. A person aged 16 or 17 cannot marry without parental consent.